Can I Delete Files on D?

[ad]Dear Computer Lady,

C & D have the same identical files.

Can I delete the D files?

Teddy

Dear Teddy,

It depends on what the files are, and what your D: drive is for.

On many computers, the D: drive is a recovery partition. You would use it (instead of recovery disks, which many computer manufacturers no longer include with a new computer) to restore your computer back to factory condition. You can usually tell if your D: drive is being used for this purpose as there will be a file or folder on the drive named, “Recovery”.

If this is what your D: drive is set up for, you never want to add or delete files from the drive.

If your D: drive was just an empty drive when you got the computer, and you have added the files, then you can go ahead and delete them.

Elizabeth

 

It’s Your Turn: What do you think?
…. Share your experience in the comments box below.

Elizabeth Boston is a Web designer, Social Media Consultant and managing editor of, “Ask The Computer Lady”.
Connect with

 

Previous Post

Startup Repair

Next Post

Using Multiple Browsers