Dear Computer Lady,
I’ve been a subscriber for quite a while now and learn so much always. Thank you! My question has to do with FACEBOOK. I signed up with no trouble but now I want to delete my FB account. I cannot find how to do this. Can you help, please? I’d appreciate it so much.
Thank you kindly, Sharee
I did a little bit of looking around on Facebook to find the answer to your question, and as with most things, the answer is not as simple as the question.
There are two things that Facebook has in place for closing an account. The first thing is, Deactivate. The second is permanently delete.
I am going to start by telling you how to deactivate your account, since that is fairly easy to do, and it appears to be what Facebook would prefer that you do.
According to Facebook’s help center, when you deactivate your account, your profile and all information associated with it are immediately made inaccessible to all other Facebook users. This means that you disappear from the Facebook Service. However, Facebook does save your profile information, so if you want to reactivate your account at some time in the future, it will look just like it did before you deactivated it. Many users deactivate their accounts for temporary reasons and want their information to be there when they return.
When you permanently delete your Facebook account, all information associated with your account will be deleted from their databases. Once you have deleted your Facebook account, you will never be able to reactivate the account, or retrieve any of the photos or information that you have added.
To deactivate your Facebook account, go to your Facebook page, make sure you are logged in and click on “Account” in the upper right corner of the page.
In the drop down menu, click on “Account Settings”.
The last setting on the page is “Deactivate Account” click on the word, deactivate to finish your task.
If you want to permanently delete your account, you will have to submit a request to Facebook and ask them to delete the account for you. Just go to the help center, and search for delete.